//
you're reading...
Concert, Review

Miyavi Concert Review

Now, first off I am the last person someone would ask to write a review especially of a Visual Kei artist who I adore and I would be the first to tell you, that I am certainly biased. With that being said, I think my opinion is worth something since in truth, there are probably other people out there who are think the same as me.

First off, Miyavi’s show at the House of Blues was the second time I had seen him live-and at the same venue I might add. With that in mind, I would say that from both my experiences and from live performances I have seen via Youtube or on DVDs, Miyavi is a superb performer. Even if I were not a fan, it is hard to disregard his charisma, his style, his humor and his amazing skill. The first time I saw him live, I honestly couldn’t understand why the man wasn’t world famous (of course, I have opinions on this matter but that’s another topic for another time). And to put it out there, I found that the second performance lacked much in comparison to the first time I had seen him and it wasn’t because my Meev’s cherry had been popped (excuse the phrase). In fact, anyone who had heard his latest record What’s My Name would expect a similar bare bones approach: Miyavi on electric guitar accompanied by Bobo, the inexhaustible drummer pounding away.

I went to the concert expecting a similar performance to the first, and there was much to be compared. But I found the one glaring difference between both concerts was the set list. Although, in the first concert Meev’s played tracks that would soon be featured on his album, songs that I wasn’t aware of and he certainly played new songs in the second concert, I found the second one lacking the overall flow of the first. Where the first time I had seen him at the House of Blues a year ago, there were slower songs, emotional songs, there were moments when the crowd just watched in silence and the lights dimmed. I was disappointed that the same wasn’t the case the second time. I’m not sure if it was because of some unfortunate technical difficulties or other unavoidable circumstances that cut the set list short but the show went from start to finish without any slower songs. Don’t get me wrong, although “Gravity” and “Itoshii Hito” are my favorite Miyavi songs, I still love his fun tracks that make Miyavi so unique in comparison to so many other musicians out there which makes him almost to me, like a baby hide (prepares to be shot). Yet, I think a concert performance should go through motions and flow. A great performance takes the listener and viewer from multiple emotional experiences from fun to angry, from sad to happy and to whatever other emotions the artist gives us. And to me, that is what was lacking in the performance I saw. It was like a continuous high.

But with that being said, that high was awesome as it was. And if you are a person who doesn’t give two shits about flow and you just want to have a good time and dance your ass off and watch Miyavi play the guitar behind his back while galloping down stage like Chuck Berry meets Hendrix, then the show was right up your alley. Hell, I would say that even if you didn’t care for his tunes, he is still a sight to see. Rock and Roll needs to have its fun moments and without it, it’s not the same and certainly, Miyavi delivers.

Let’s be honest, I’m not sure he lacks anything as a musician. Among these qualities, he is always willing to try new things and experiment. He explores all the different avenues of music and never limits himself. It’s exciting to see what new things he is going to bring to the table and to listen to how he reinvents his older songs and play them through his new bare bones medium. And although, I thought the concert could have been better, I know that it’s completely in his capacity to get it there. In short, I would recommend seeing Miyavi to anyone who appreciates Rock and Roll and even if you just think it’s alright, his humor, his amusing Michael Jackson dance moves and his good looks aren’t bad either.

So in my book, any Miyavi concert is 5/5 but in terms of Miyavi concerts, the one I saw in Chicago on the 28th would have to rank as a 3/5.

Oh and by the way, I have no photos. Couldn’t take any.

To close it off, here is Miyavi’s latest, “Strong” which he did play live. I chose the KREVAless version since that is how he performs it and I also prefer it since Meev’s provides more vocals. Enjoy~

About Lexi

Editor

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Miyavi Concert Review

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. I went to his SF show on 10/22, and thought the same thing when I was on my way home. I had even talked with some fans after the show, and they said it was a little disappointing too. oh and I always feel like his concerts are too short… :l

    Posted by Ashley Diaz | November 2, 2011, 5:37 pm
    • Yeah, his concerts do seem short in comparison to other bands. >.>

      So, you are from San Francisco? A lot of bands seem to go to the West Coast. How many shows have you been to if you don’t mind me asking?

      Oh and thanks for commenting ^-^

      Posted by Lexi | November 3, 2011, 8:02 pm
      • Haha they are !! But I guess its understandable, because its just him and Bobo.

        I am actually from Texas, but am living in Oakland for college (its about an hour bus ride from San Francisco) so I’ve been lucky enough to go to a few shows here. I’ve seen Miyavi 3 times now, 2 of them were in Texas. Other than that, I’ve been to about 20 concerts.

        The West Coast does see a lot of bands, but they are mostly in Los Angeles. I’ve noticed that depending on what large anime convention there is in a state, usually they can pick up some Japanese artists. It’d be nice if bands could tour West Coast, South, and East Coast cities but that is pretty rare >.<

        Posted by Ashley Diaz | November 3, 2011, 8:11 pm
  2. I just recently saw him perform for the first time ever at Firestone Live in Orlando and I must I had waited for that for over 10 years! It was spectacular! And I didn’t even mind the unfortunate teenagers that jumped on my back to touch his hand…I really loved his performance and I can’t wait till he comes back around again!
    Did you get any pics of the concert you went to? All mine came out grainy..and had the aforementioned teenage hands in most of the shots. 🙂

    Posted by pennington41 | November 15, 2011, 9:12 pm
    • Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures. They had security guards walking through the crowd during the concert nagging people who were trying to take photos. >.>

      I had a friend who went to the concert in Orlando. It was one of her first rock concerts. She isn’t that big a Miyavi fan but after seeing him live, she was completely blown away by his skill and presence.

      So, you have been a Miyavi fan for a long time?

      Posted by Lexi | November 16, 2011, 4:52 am
  3. The same thing happened with the NYC show! I saw him in Boston in ’10 and at the end of that show I was drenched in sweat, my voice was gone, and my legs were pretty much useless. This year in NYC my voice wasn’t even hoarse and I sweated only a little bit, despite the crowd being more packed together.
    Still a fantastic show (especially since I got to meet him at the end!) but I preferred the Boston show to this one. Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who thought so!

    Posted by nayakitty | November 19, 2011, 10:50 pm
    • Yeah, that is true. After the first miyavi show I saw, my body was so sore the next day but it was really worth it. There is just something about going to a show and it kicking your ass (of course in a good way) XDD

      Posted by Lexi | November 19, 2011, 10:54 pm
  4. Oh yes! I have been a fan since before he left Due le Quartz! My first impression of him was when he did a small interview from his hotel and was introducing his solo career to Japan. It was funny! He just kept saying his name! I thought “Man, this guy better have more skills playing than talking!”…and he did. he’s gotten so much better with his English too!!

    Posted by Pennington Trading House | November 21, 2011, 7:43 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: miyavi concert dokusou | MIYAVI.tv - December 25, 2014

Leave a comment